Location and Size

The East Mamprusi Municipal Assembly was established by Legislative Instrument, 2274 with the capital located at Gambaga. The district shares boundaries with Upper East Region to the North, Yonyoo-Nasuan to the East, Gushiegu and Karaga Assemblies to the South and West Mamprusi to the West. It covers a land mass of 10,659sqkm, representing about 2.4% of the total land mass of the region.

The municipality has a population of 230,543. The distribution
shows that females account for 139,215 and males constituting the remaining 91,328 or about 60 and 40 respectively, with a growth rate of 4% per annum.

The Municipality has 142 communities with 5 Zonal Councils (namely Nalerigu, Gambaga, Langbensi, Sakogu and Gbintri) with Nalerigu, Gambaga and Langbensi being the largest communities with populations above 12,000 each. The Municipal Assembly has 36 elected members, 15 Government appointees, one (1) Hon. Member of Parliament of the area, and the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) who is the Executive and Administrative head of the Municipality and assisted by the Municipal Co-ordinating Director and his technical team as the technocrats and advisers of the MCE. The Municipality has 36 Unit Committees.